earth
SCO-Logo-Mono-White-RVB

The battle to curb global warming is well and truly engaged. On 12 December 2015, a historic event took place in Paris when 195 nations committed to limit their greenhouse gas emissions in order to restrict the rise in global temperatures to 1.5°C.

We must now go further and seek to understand and gauge the impacts of climate change at global and local scales. And for that, satellites are set to play a key role, giving us the clear picture that only the vantage point of space can provide.

Today, under the impetus of the world’s space agencies, the Space Climate Observatory (SCO) is being established to federate resources, data and energies. As an international cooperation initiative for humankind, the SCO intends to ready territories and populations for the challenges that lie ahead.

Learn more

earth
SCO-Logo-Mono-White-RVB

La bataille pour limiter le réchauffement climatique est désormais résolument engagée. Le 12 décembre 2015 s’est produit à Paris un événement historique : 195 pays se sont engagés à limiter leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour contenir la hausse de la température globale à 1,5°C.

Il faut maintenant aller plus loin pour comprendre et mesurer les impacts du changement climatique de l’échelle globale à locale. Aux meilleurs postes d’observation, la vue perçante des satellites joue pour cela un rôle essentiel.

Aujourd’hui, sous l’impulsion des agences spatiales du monde entier, l’Observatoire Spatial du Climat (SCO) se construit pour fédérer moyens, données et énergies. Coopération internationale pour la planète et pour l’humanité, le SCO veut fournir aux territoires et à leurs habitants les moyens de se préparer et de s’adapter.

En savoir plus